As one of the most sought-after vacation destinations in the United States, Florida vacations promise sunny beaches, blue skies, and great local food and drinks. It’s easy to indulge and treat yourself while you’re visiting and off work for the week. Unfortunately, it’s also easy to drink a little too much and think you’re okay to drive back to the hotel or resort.
If you have been caught intoxicated while operating a motor vehicle or the arresting officer has good reason to believe you had intentions to drive in the near future, you could be arrested and charged with a DUI. Florida’s maximum blood alcohol concentration is 0.08%. In order to avoid the legal confusion of attempting to get home with a suspended license, it’s vital you reach out to an attorney as soon as possible to help clear things up.
Getting arrested on vacation can feel overwhelming. A DUI charge will result in a trip to the local police station, where friends or family members will need to bail you out. Once this has occurred, it’s important to find a local defense attorney who is familiar with the laws and regulations. Three things they will help you address include the following:
Upon arrest, your driver’s license will be suspended. It’s important to note that in Florida, a DUI does not immediately equate to a motor vehicle and alcohol. A DUI charge can result from any intoxicating or illegal substance and any motorized vehicle, including boats. Once your license has been suspended and you have been bailed out, your attorney will work quickly to appeal this decision.
You have 10 days from the date of suspicion to file for a temporary permit or file an appeal. If you do not file within those 10 days, you will lose your license.
A court date will be set in the state in which you were arrested. Your attendance is not mandatory, given that your lawyer is there to represent you. However, it does look better to be there in person or through a Zoom call if possible. A knowledgeable criminal defense attorney will fight to have the charges dropped or reduced.
Potential defenses your attorney could argue include proving the officer illegally stopped you or proving the breathalyzer was outdated or used unlawfully.
If your license is suspended in Florida, it is likely your home state will be notified of the arrest and suspension. Florida and most other states share information about driving violations through the Driver License Compact (DLC), which means the suspension will carry over to your home state as well. However, there are a few states who do not participate in the DLC, including:
If your state is one of the states that does participate, failure to take the appropriate measures to reinstate your license or failure to have proper representation in court will result in a warrant for your arrest.
Whether the DUI is from a boat, electric scooter, or car, Fighter Law is here to help. Our board-certified team of attorneys has been in the business of criminal defense for over a decade now and has successfully helped our clients receive decreased charges or beneficial results.
Let us fight for your rights and get back to enjoying your sunny Florida vacation. To see how we can best help you today, give our office a call at (407) 344-4837 or fill out our contact form.
Fill out the form below for a free evaluation of your case.